Flutterby Butterfly

25 Apr

I’ve wanted a butterfly in a box for as long as I can remember, inspired by a picture book about catching butterflies I had as a child. There is something pretty macabre about having dead creatures mounted on your walls though, so I had restrained myself from buying one – the framed postcard above is Loulou’s – until I came across Benjamin’s Butterflies at a stall in Broadway Market. Benjamin sources all of his naturally deceased butterflies from Stratford Butterfly Farm. From the look of my fragile, irridescent-blue butterfly, he led an eventful life. I’m a sucker for beautiful imperfections (even more so if they are evidence of a life well lived).

Ellie

One Response to “Flutterby Butterfly”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More Butterflies « Pick me up - May 10, 2012

    […] butterflies, arranged in stained-glass-window-like patterns are absolutely beautiful. Ellie is right about butterflies, they have an ethereal beauty, even when squished into white gloss paint as they were at Tate […]

Leave a Reply

